My Personal Research Journey

Special Needs Students

I chose Special Needs Students as one of my personal passions and focus in Early Childhood Education because of the oversight of special needs students. If the students are gifted, they are sometimes left alone to tackle educational and everyday personal challenges in the classroom. If they are academically challenged, they are often pushed aside. Special Needs students need a “voice.” This is where I come into play.

I feel the mission of Early Childhood Education is to provide an exceptional educational, health-conscious, low cost environment that will promote, and address students from all ethnic and educational backgrounds. I want my focus to be placed on developmentally appropriate activities that will address all learning styles.

My passion grew with intensity as I watched a movie years ago called, “The Marva Collins Story.” Although, this story focused on African American students who had been rejected by other schools and labeled disruptive and “unteachable.” Dr. Collins had seen too many children pass through an ineffective school system in which they were given teachers with inadequate educational backgrounds and very little empathy for children with diverse backgrounds (Collins, 2009). This story can and should be applied to all ethnicities.  I am encouraging my colleagues to read and examine the following book, Marva Collins’ Way: “ Returning To Excellence In Education,” She is an awesome educator.

If schools are to meet the challenge of educating increased numbers of children with diverse needs, teachers must embrace instruction and curricula that engage and encourage all students. Research about including children from multicultural backgrounds, children from homes in which English is not the primary language, and children with disabilities indicates the importance of several interrelated educational strategies: heterogeneous student grouping; developmentally appropriate practice; an inclusive curriculum that emphasizes children’s strengths yet accommodates their needs; high expectations for all students; appropriate physical environment and materials; collaboration and instructional teaming with other teachers and professionals; support from administrators, families, and the community; and ongoing professional development (Division for Early Childhood (DEC) and the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).

The research chart gave insight as a reminder in correct citing of an article, which is always essential in giving credit to authors in format. The research chart was useful in showing how to provide a direct and complete quote of the way the authors state the purpose of the study, which was informative for me and colleagues. Learning to paraphrase and summarize a quality research article is tedious and you do not want to take away credible research by the author. The research chart enlightened me and kept me abreast in the correct format and its importance. I will use it through out this course and future classes (Lepuschitz, J.K. (2011). A practical guide to reading research articles. Laureate Education In).

References:

http://www.alex-haley.com/marva_collins_way_returning_to_excellence_in_education.htm

Lepuschitz, J.K. (2011). A practical guide to reading research articles. Laureate Education Inc., Baltimore, MD.

A joint position statement of the Division for Early Childhood (DEC) and theNationalAssociation for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC). Retrieved from http://www.naeyc.org/files/naeyc/file/positions/DEC_NAEYC_EC_updatedKS.pdf Copyright by the National Association for the Education of Young Children

8 thoughts on “My Personal Research Journey

  1. Hello Bephriam,

    I truly enjoyed reading your blog and I am a parent of an autistic son. He is now 22 years old and I could not be more proud of him. It was a rough road and I thank you for your concern and passion for wanting more for our “bonus children”.
    Great Post!

    Angela

    Like

    • Hello Angela,
      Thanks for your sweet thoughts! Did you hear or see the article on the autistic young man that was Valedictorian of his class and headed to college? I know as educators we can win this battle. Our bonus children need us. Let’s fight to win!!! Teary-eyed, but tears of joy!!! Let’s continue to blog the great news!!!

      Like

  2. Hi Birdie,
    I enjoy reading your post, I see that your focus is placed on developmentally appropriate activities addressing all learning styles. I as well have selected developmentally appropriate practices, however I am applying emphases on learning about developmentally appropriate curriculum and development in early childhood. By exploring this section in-depth I will gain insight in aligning what is developmentally appropriate with educational standards. I am feeling a little overwhelm with doing research and I hope I am understanding how to apply it. Thank you for sharing!
    Nydia

    Like

  3. I commend you for choosing to focus on special needs children. I received my B.S. in Special Education and It is not an easy field to deal with. I also love how you mentioned Gifted as a special needs student because too often they are forgetten. lastly, I love how your passion came about from a movie. Passion to be a teacher did as well. The movie whose teacher inspired me was “Matellda”. You could tell that no matte the circumssance the teacher in the movie was going to be an outstanding one.

    Like

  4. Birdie,
    You chose a great topic! I am working on how we can nature benefit children with special needs. I have had the privilege to work with children in the spectrum, and found that they gain wonderful things from nature. I’ve seen breakthroughs in language and social interactions. I’m excited to read more about your topic.

    Like

    • Thanks Monica!Autism has a special place in my heart. I have heard enjoyable stories and sad stories too. Thankfully, I have heard more happy ones.
      Hope to hear from you soon!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

